1. Senior Management Commitment and Continual Improvement
For any food safety system to be effective it’s essential the senior management team is fully committed to its application and continued development.

2. The Food Safety Plan (HACCP)
The basis for the Food Safety System is an effective HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point) program based on the requirements of the internationally recognized Codex Alimentarius system. 

3. Food Safety and Quality Management System
Sets out requirements for the management of food safety and quality, building upon the principles of ISO 9000. This includes requirements for product specifications, supplier approval, traceability, and the management of incidents and product recalls.

4. Site Standards
Sets out expectations for the production environment including the layout and maintenance of the buildings and equipment, cleaning, pest control, waste management and foreign body controls.

5. Product Control
Includes the requirements for product design and development stage including allergen management, product and ingredient provenance, product packaging and product inspection and testing.

6. Process Control
Includes the establishment and maintenance of safe process controls, weight/volume control and equipment calibration, and ensures the documented HACCP plan is put into practice.

7. Personnel
Sets out the standards needed for staff training, protective clothing and personal hygiene. Buy the Food Safety Standard from the BRC bookshop